Get answers to all of your TUMS® antacid questions.
TUMS® Antacid Basics
Each tablet contains:
TUMS® Regular Strength 500: .75gm
TUMS® Extra Strength 750: 1.1gm
TUMS® Extra Strength Sugar Free: 0.5gm
TUMS® Smoothies (Extra Strength): 1.45gm
TUMS® Ultra Strength 1000: 1.45gm
All TUMS® products (with the exception of Chewy Delights® and Chewy Bites®) are Kosher Pareve. The ingredients of all TUMS® Smoothies™ varieties were changed years ago so that they are Kosher Pareve. Chewy Delights® are Kosher Dairy. Chewy Bites® are not Kosher at all. TUMS® products receive a Kosher Certificate from Diamond-K Supervision. See front label to determine the Kosher status of the product you have selected.
Yes, with a few exceptions. The flavoring in TUMS® Smoothies™ Assorted Fruit tablets contains dairy. If your milk allergies are very serious or life-threatening, you should consult your doctor before using any TUMS® products. Although we have cleaning procedures in place, we cannot guarantee that some small trace of the Smoothies Assorted Fruit flavors would not be present in the other flavors.
TUMS® bottles are made from polypropylene and they have a #5 recycle on the bottom. Check to see if they can be recycled in your municipality.
The active ingredient in TUMS® antacids is calcium carbonate. The calcium carbonate in TUMS® antacid is processed from pure limestone, resulting in a high degree of purity.
All TUMS® products have been gluten tested and meet the guidelines for “gluten free” labeling.
TUMS® antacids do not contain animal by-products.
TUMS® does not contain aluminum as an active ingredient.
TUMS® and Pregnancy
Please talk to your healthcare provider before taking any over the counter product while pregnant. Read and follow all label directions.
After a review of scientific information, the maker of TUMS® antacid has decided to update the product label. The TUMS® new label recommends the maximum daily dosage of TUMS®.